Transit Week Challenge 2019

Welcome to the Transit Week Challenge!


We would like to call on all city councillors and all of you to use transit as much as you can for the week of Monday February 4 to Sunday February 10. Buses should be used for all transportation besides walking. Yes, this means long trips across the city, going out with your friends, important meetings – all travel except emergencies.

At the end of the week, you will answer a few questions – we will send you a feedback form. Try to be fair – what works? What doesn’t? Try to imagine some of the challenges other people may face, living in different parts of the city, or those with mobility challenges. The purpose of this week is to come up with solutions to build our transit system, and this step is one of the best ways to achieve that.

Link to sign up for Councillors:

Link to sign up for Citizens:

In a nutshell, the goals of the campaign are to:

  •  Highlight effective and affordable transit as an issue at municipal level
  •  Encourage interaction/involvement between councillors and the general public
  •  Identify strengths and places for improvement in our transit system

After we get all the feedback we will hold a press conference – details to be announced – watch this space.

Pass it on! Tell a friend about it! Sign up!

These Councillors have committed to participate so far – spot them on your bus!

Matt Luloff, Councillor for Ward 1 Orléans

Laura Dudas, Councillor for Ward 2 Innes

Jenna Sudds, Councillor for Ward 4 Kanata North

Glen Gower, Councillor for Ward 6 Stittsville

Theresa Kavanagh, Councillor for Ward 7 Bay

Keith Egli, Councillor for Ward 9 Knoxdale-Merivale

Dianne Deans, Councillor for Ward 10 Gloucester-Southgate

Tim Tierney, Councillor for Ward 11 Beacon Hill-Cyrville

Mathieu Fleury, Councillor for Ward 12 Rideau-Vanier

Catherine McKenney, Councillor for Ward 14 Somerset

Jeff Leiper, Councillor for Ward 15 Kitchissippi

Riley Brockington, Councillor for Ward 16 River

Shawn Menard, Councillor for Ward 17 Capital

Jean Cloutier, Councillor for Ward 18 Alta Vista

Stephen Blais, Councillor for Ward 19 Cumberland

Carol Anne Meehan, Councillor for Ward 22 Gloucester-South Nepean

Alan Hubley, Councillor for Ward 23 Kanata South

If your Councillor not on this list, contact them today! Here’s how:

Jan Harder – Ward 3 Barrhaven – – 613-580-2473

Eli El-Chantiry – Ward 5 West Carleton-March – – 613-580-2475

Rick Chiarelli – Ward 8 College – – 613-580-2478

Tim Tierney – Ward 11 Beacon Hill-Cyrville – – 613-580-2481

George Darouze – Ward 20 Osgoode – – 613-580-2490

Scott Moffatt – Ward 21 Rideau-Goulbourn – – 613-580-2491

This event is proudly co-sponsored by Ecology Ottawa, ATU Local 279, the Healthy Transportation Coalition. Carleton Student Energy, The Ottawa Transit Riders, Joel Harden – NDP, and more to come.
Media contact: Kirstin Pulles 
Tel  519 829 8463